The Tissue Transplantation

Tissue transplants are part of the standard of medical care in Germany. In the past ten years, doctors in Germany have transplanted around 60,000 corneas, hundreds of cardiovascular tissues and hundreds of thousands of bone preparations. Due to its wound healing promoting properties, the amniotic membrane can be used in many different areas of medicine: whether in ophthalmology, burn medicine, in the care of chronic wounds such as the diabetic foot, in oral and maxillofacial surgery or gynaecological surgery. The DGFG offers the following transplants to transplanting institutions throughout Germany.

Cornea

Corneal transplantation is the last remaining treatment option to save the sight of patients with a diseased or injured cornea. The success rate is very high and many patients get their vision back completely. In keratoplasty, the entire cornea is replaced by a donor cornea.

Heart valves & blood vessels

Cardiovascular grafts are often used to replace infected artificial prostheses. In many cases, transplantation is an emergency operation that saves lives. In addition, heart valves are often used to treat childhood heart valve defects.

Musculoskeletal tissues

Serious bone defects caused by illness or accident can only be cured in orthopaedics and trauma surgery by the precise use of bone grafts.

40.731

Tissue transplants were allocated nationwide by the DGFG in the period 2007-2018.

Tissue transplant safety

In Germany, tissue preparations are subject to the Medicinal Products Act, where extensive approval and safety regulations apply. The EU Directive 2004/23/EC defines uniform quality and safety standards for tissue preparations throughout the European Union. The German Society for Tissue Transplantation (DGFG) is approved for tissue preparation and transplantation in accordance with § 20 b and § 20 c of the German Medicinal Products Act. In addition, the Paul Ehrlich Institute, the responsible federal authority, has given its approval to distribute the prepared transplants. Each tissue donation is fully documented and traceable from consent to processing and transplantation.

Learn more about tissue transplantation

There are not always enough human tissue transplants available. Especially heart valves and blood vessels are missing in tissue medicine and still patients have to endure their situation unnecessarily long. There is no central allocation office for tissue transplants in Germany, nor is there a nationwide waiting list – as for organ donation. They were not desired by the authorities.

The German Society for Tissue Transplantation (DGFG) takes up the idea of central allocation. Every year, we provide thousands of patients with safe and high-quality tissue transplants through our nationwide network. Our special concern is a fair distribution of the existing corneas, heart valves and blood vessels. Our well-developed nationwide network ensures that corneas and heart valves are transferred from the tissue banks to the transplant centres without any loss of time. Using a supra-regional database, the employees of the allocation office have a permanent overview of all tissue transplants available in the network. The allocation office can also react quickly to emergency enquiries and typified transplants. Networking increases the chance that patients will quickly receive a suitable transplant.

Our future goal is to be able to supply every patient within four weeks. Therefore we are continuously expanding our donation programs.

Please help us by supporting the tissue donation in your hospital. Only if enough people donate tissue can you optimally provide your patients with tissue transplants.

Order a transplant

Register your patients for a corneal transplant, cardiovascular, musculoskeletal or amniotic tissue.

Report donors

Report donors from within Germany to 0800 – 511 5000 (free of charge). 24 hours reachable!

Become a network partner

Whether as a donor hospital, tissue bank or transplant centre – all participants benefit from the cooperation in the network. Including patients.

;

Die Gewebetransplantation

Gewebetransplantationen gehören zum Standard der medizinischen Versorgung in Deutschland. Allein in den vergangenen zehn Jahren haben Ärzte hierzulande etwa 60.000 Augenhornhäute transplantiert, hunderte kardiovaskuläre Gewebe sowie hunderttausende Knochenpräparate. Aufgrund ihrer wundheilungsfördernden Eigenschaften kann die Amnionmembran in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen der Medizin zum Einsatz kommen: ob in der Ophthalmologie, der Verbrennungsmedizin, in der Versorgung chronischer Wunden wie dem Diabetischen Fuß, in der Mund-Kiefer-Chirurgie oder gynäkologischen Chirurgie. Die folgenden Transplantate bietet die DGFG transplantierenden Einrichtungen deutschlandweit an.

Augenhornhaut

Die Hornhauttransplantation ist die letzte noch verbleibende Behandlungsmöglichkeit, um Patienten mit einer erkrankten oder verletzten Augenhornhaut das Augenlicht zu retten. Die Erfolgsrate ist sehr hoch und viele Patienten erhalten ihr Sehvermögen vollständig zurück. Bei einer Keratoplastik wird die gesamte Hornhaut durch eine Spenderhornhaut ausgetauscht.

Herzklappen & Blutgefäße

Kardiovaskuläre Transplantate finden häufig Einsatz bei infizierten, künstlichen Prothesen. Die Transplantation ist nicht selten eine Notfalloperation, die Leben rettet. Darüber hinaus werden Herzklappen zur Therapie kindlicher Herzklappenfehler eingesetzt.

Muskuloskelettale Gewebe

Schwere krankheits- oder unfallbedingte Knochendefekte können in der Orthopädie und Unfallchirurgie nur durch den passgenauen Einsatz von Knochentransplantaten geheilt werden.

40.731

Gewebetransplantate konnte die DGFG im Zeitraum 2007-2018 bundesweit vermitteln.

Gewebetransplantate sind sicher

In Deutschland unterliegen Gewebezubereitungen dem Arzneimittelgesetz und sind damit Arzneimittel. Damit gelten umfangreiche Zulassungs- und Sicherheitsvorschriften. Die EU-Richtlinie 2004/23/EG legt in der gesamten Europäischen Union einheitliche Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsstandards für Gewebezubereitungen fest. Die DGFG verfügt über die erforderlichen Erlaubnisse nach § 20 b und c Arzneimittelgesetz. Darüber hinaus liegt die Genehmigung der Bundesoberbehörde, dem Paul-Ehrlich-Institut vor, um die vorpräparierten Transplantate in den Verkehr zu bringen. Jede Gewebespende ist von der Einwilligung über die Prozessierung bis hin zur Transplantation lückenlos dokumentiert und rückverfolgbar.

Mehr über die Gewebetransplantation erfahren

Es stehen nicht immer genügend humane Gewebetransplantate zur Verfügung. Vor allem Herzklappen und Blutgefäße fehlen in der Gewebemedizin und noch immer müssen kranke Menschen ihre Situation unnötig lange ertragen. Eine zentrale Vermittlungsstelle für Gewebetransplantate sowie eine bundeseinheitliche Warteliste – wie bei der Organspende – gibt es in Deutschland nicht. Sie wurden vom Gesetzgeber nicht gewünscht.

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Gewebetransplantation (DGFG) greift den Gedanken einer zentralen Vermittlung auf: Wir versorgen durch unser bundesweites Netzwerk jedes Jahr tausende Patienten mit sicheren und hochwertigen Gewebetransplantaten. Eine gerechte und zentrumsorientierte Verteilung der vorhandenen Augenhornhäute, Herzklappen und Blutgefäße ist unser besonderes Anliegen. Unser bundesweit gut ausgebautes Netzwerk stellt sicher, dass Augenhornhäute und Herzklappen ohne Zeitverlust von den Gewebebanken zu den Transplantationszentren kommen. Über unsere überregionale Bestandsdatenbank haben die Mitarbeiterinnen der Vermittlungsstelle eine ständige Übersicht über alle im Netzwerk verfügbaren Gewebetransplantate. Auch auf Notfallanfragen und typisierte Transplantate kann die Vermittlungsstelle schnell reagieren. Die Vernetzung erhöht die Chance, dass Patienten schnell ein passendes Transplantat bekommen.

Wir haben das Ziel, Sie in Zukunft innerhalb von vier Wochen versorgen zu können. Dazu bauen wir unsere Spendeprogramme ständig aus.

Bitte unterstützen Sie auch die Gewebespende in Ihrem Umfeld, in Ihrem Krankenhaus. Nur wenn genügend Menschen Gewebe spenden, können Sie Ihre Patienten optimal mit Gewebetransplantaten versorgen.

Transplantat bestellen

Melden Sie Ihre Patienten für eine Transplantation einer Augenhornhaut, kardiovaskulärer, muskuloskelettaler Gewebe oder Amnion an.

Spender melden

Melden Sie Spender kostenfrei an 0800 – 511 5000. 24 Stunden erreichbar!

Netzwerkpartner werden

Ob Spendekrankenhaus, Gewebebank oder Transplantationszentrum – von der Kooperation im Netzwerk profitieren alle Beteiligten. Einschließlich Patientinnen und Patienten.